Career day

As I will be on maternity leave for 6-9months it gives me a lot of time to think about starting a new career. I have pretty much hated my jobs since I left CIT. Mostly because they are boring and I never have any work but also because I can see no point to my work. No job satisfaction I guess you could say. So to help me find a job im going to make some lists. I love lists lol

Things I like and am good at:

  • craft
  • design
  • marketing
  • kids
  • internet
  • sewing
  • knitting
  • writing
  • teaching
  • Qualified Library Technician
  • Experience in childcare

Things I don’t like:

  • Corporate environment
  • being told what to do
  • Having to be accountable to someone
  • 9-5

Things I want in a new job:

  • Job satisfaction
  • Sense of achievement
  • Helping people
  • Flexible working hours
  • ideally work from home
  • creative environment
  • No one looking over my shoulder

So from this I know that I don’t want to work in an office environment. I also don’t want to be at the bottom of the food chain or have staff under me. I want somewhere where I can do my work and be left in peace. This leaves few options lol I did consider selling knitted baby clothes on Etsy but I cant knit fast enough to make it profitable. I have previously done Tupperware which I loved but didn’t get enough people attending parties so felt like I was wasting my time hosting them. I am actually a published author but haven’t felt like writing since I found out I was expecting so that’s a maybe, it also only pays quarterly and I would like a steady income. This is why im thinking an online shop would be great for me. I can do it from home, stock it when I have the time around bub where it be 2am or 3pm. I get income from each sale for little outlay. I can do it from anywhere if we move (hoping to live in the country one day). Only hurdle now is deciding what to put in the shop. I can sew but have limited experience in making clothes which would be a good veture. My mother and I have both found a lack of good maternity clothes. Mostly its spandex or fitted and for the plus size lady like me both are nightmares. I have also struggled to find cute baby clothes especially for boys so there is an option but I would have to come up with the patterns myself…which I have no idea how to do. I am quite handy with creating images like posters and websites so I had thought of a graphic design angle. So I could design invitations etc. I believe I would need special software to do that though so that will be a bit of a financial outlay. I also love and am quite good at photography so could sell a few prints?

It is all food for thought though. They say everyone has a marketable skill. And I know I don’t want to live my life working a job I don’t like. I would rather have less money and do something that makes me happy. I am a bit of a jack of all trades and have tried a lot of things I decided weren’t for me, I was a bakers apprentice for 3 months (the 14day weeks killed me), I worked in childcare which I loved but was far too stressful, I joined the RFS (Rural fire service) but decided my fitness really just didn’t cut it even though I loved it, I have taken pottery classes but couldn’t think of anything to make, im a good archer but never get time to go to the range and I am a keen at home cook. I’m also a black belt in Taekwondo, and a bellydancer. As you can see I just like trying my hand at things and seeing if I like it. Im hoping to get into a quilting class before bub is born too.

What about everyone else, what is your dream job? Got any more ideas for me?

Leave a Reply

