Cost so far

I was thinking today that I wonder how much I have spent on baby and how much is left. So here is a breakdown so far. S=Sale

  • Carseat $279 S
  • Rocker/ bassinet $135 S
  • Crib $90 S
  • bottles $26
  • Tupperware $275 (I used to sell it so im obsessed)
  • Onesies x6 $35?
  • Nappies $10
  • New cloth nappies x5 $100 S
  • terry towel nappies $20
  • Leggings x2 $20
  • Maternity clothes $80 (two leggings, a top and a nightie, bra)
  • Doctors $160
  • Ultrasounds x2Β and NT blood test $570
  • Cot sheets x2 $60
  • Nappy bag $19 S
  • Face washers $15
  • wet wipes $9

So all up? $1,911 Having said that I saved $455 buying things on sale or second hand. Go me! Most of the things I still have left im hoping to have gifted. I want to know the sex before I get more clothes but that’s something that I think my mum and sister will want to buy so ill count more clothes out. I made my own bibs with leftover fabric and am knitting some booties and beanie’s with wool I already had. Im also planning on making my own cot sheets with sale fabric when I find it. So things I still have to buy:

  • Breast pump $250
  • Cot mattress $100-$200 (its dumb how expensive these are, a bit of foam would work)
  • $20 2mtrs of sale fabric per cot sheet
  • Chest of draws as change table $40 S
  • Change mat $50
  • Rocking chair $50-$200
  • Bath supplies $30
  • Pram $200
  • Sling $70
  • Sun shades $20
  • Door safety catches $40

So about another $1320! Having said this this is our first kid so there is a lot we don’t have. Second kid will have hand me downs so no cost for them πŸ™‚ Also once bub is here there wont be as many costs for a while. I’m planning to breastfeed or express exclusively for 4-6months then make my own baby food to use with breast milk until 1year. I’m fine with using formula though but hopefully I can bare through the boob pain πŸ™‚

Mum said that there isn’t a lot you have to buy for a new bub. I was like hell yeah there is lol its like moving out for the first time. You know the important things but you forget all the little things that you only remember when you need it. Pegs, vegie peeler, spatula, oven trays, laundry powder, herbs. When you have a baby you know the big things, cot, pram, nappies, clothes. But you forget that they are going to need something to eat out of, bottles, and something to express milk so BD can feed it, and something to clean up vomit and something to bathe them with, plus sunshades for the car and safety catches for the house. I think mums that have been out of the game a while forget all those little things that they had to get at the start. Like people are telling me I don’t need a pram. I’m like well I’m not carrying it around the shops, I will need both hands to shop, and my back one day!

2 thoughts on “Cost so far

  1. Keep in mind you don’t necessarily need all that stuff. I can see you are a good shopper but that doesn’t mean you should waste your money. I would definitely recommend a baby swing. Everyone I have told that to has thanked me after not getting weeks of sleep. You can get a used one for about $70 and it’s so worth it! l try not to think about what I have spent since I know I spent over $8000 just to get pregnant. Lol

  2. See but i look at my list and they are all essentials compared to what i have used to care for babies in the past. And to me a baby swing is a non essential lol so i guess its all down to personal choice πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

