My Awesome life

I have bad days, weeks, months. But i keep thinking how awesome my life turned in the last year and i cant help but smile.

I met BD in College. I went to school with his younger brother and by and by BD started dating my best friend at the time. I saw him as the broody older man (he was 19 to our 17) and i really crushed hard for him. They broke up after 6months as you do at that age but we continued hanging out down the local league club until our little group disbanded at about 20yrs old as people started getting jobs and friends out side our school group. Over the years we touched base a few times. Sparking up brief conversations on facebook over a post someone had put up but i never really saw him at all for about 8yrs.

Fast forward to January 2013. I had just gotten out of a relationship with a man (i use that term lightly) who told me he never wanted to move in with me, get married or have kids. After 3 years together this was actually a relief that i didnt have to try anymore and could just be me. After a month or two I got sick of people telling me not to worry i would find someone. Folks why cant i just enjoy being single! So i thought i would find a single person to talk to and have a normal conversation. BD sprung to mind so i contacted him on FB and asked how he was. We chatted everynight for a week or two before he asked to catch up for real. I told myself that we were just catching up as friends as i did with my other male mates. But after the second catch up i figured we both wanted more. Fast forward 4months and his housemate moved out and he asked me to move in! I will remind you that I had been waiting 3yrs for my ex to take this step so i was over the moon. We got along great and he was just as awesome as i remembered him back in College with the added bonus that he had mellowed with age and was now laid back and comfortable in his life.

Over the next few months he kept joking that i should go off the pill. Finally i asked if he was serious because i would really like kids. He said that of course he was and bam a month later I was pregnant. I considered briefly if i had done the right thing, after all we had only been together for less than a year but each time i asked myself this the imediate answer was yes. We both adored kids and were at a point in our lives where nothing would make us happier than to have them. To ice the cake we both wanted a little boy to even out the grandkids numbers of 8 girls to 0boys and last friday that dream came true.  

I often wish i could go and tell my teenage self how awesome our life turns out but i think i wouldnt have believed it. So heres to our little family and more happy suprises in the future. 

Leave a Reply

