Natural labour

We have been talking about natural ways to go into labour. I have tried Raspberry leaf tea which if drunk 2-4 times a day does seem to induce cramps but I hate the stuff so don’t drink it often enough for it to have any lasting effect. I know walking helps so I try go for a walk around the shops occasionally but lets be honest I would rather be at home on the lounge.

I brought up Castor oil with my mothers group and several people were horrified that I would even consider it. Let me make this clear, it doesn’t hurt the baby. What it does is stimulate the bowel (makes you poop) which because its next to the womb it is said to stimulate it through the bowel if that makes sense? The same thing goes for eating spicey things or curry. If it stimulates your bowel it can bring on labour. Of course im still two weeks away but im impatient ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

A lot of the ladies in my group are being given stretch and sweeps. Where basically the midwife inserts a finger into your cervix and sweeps it around to separate the membrane and encourage labour. Its quite painful if you aren’t already at least 1cm dilated and I honestly don’t know why so many are having it as none are more than 38weeks…It does seem like doctors are very eager these days to encourage labour rather than letting it progress on its own. I think nearly 20 babies have been born so far in my July group and about half were ‘encouraged’ so either with C-sections or induction. Seems a little excessive to me. And as much as I would like to go into labour right now, I would rather it happen naturally than when the doctor dictates it because its convenient. On the other hand knowing a time and place to go into labour would be fun ๐Ÿ™‚

So for now im stuck with minor occasional cramps as my only sign of things to come…back to the waiting game.

2 thoughts on “Natural labour

  1. For some reason I thought I would get a sweep next appt (It’ll be on my due date) but the philosophy of my practice is it’s best to let your body go into labor naturally (as long as there’s no distress with baby or mother)….I think that makes sense (they won’t let you go beyond 1 week 4 days- that’s the magical induction date). I feel like after week 37 we all hear full term and get impatient..I know the feeling well!!! Best of luck to you and I hope your little one is ready to come out early!!!

    • Thanks good luck to you too. Waiting is hard but we have to trust the doctors know what they are doing ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

