Labour delivery and Rueben James

My little boy arrived 16//2014 at 12:38am. He weighed 3.5kg and was 49cm long. Perfection.

Things didn’t go according to plan but we are both here safe so im one happy mumma. I will try tell you as much as I can so there are some gross bits in here.

10491274_790794937610331_3780389791153146371_n

On my due date, Sunday 13th I went into the hospital for a check up. Because of my GD I knew induction was on the cards for this week. However when I went in my blood pressure was slightly up and they thought it could be late onset pre eclampsia. In addition to GD which increases the chances of a still birth after 41 weeks they decided to admit me then and there and get things moving. That night they inserted Certivil which is like a bandaid of fabric they stick on your cervix and its got a little string to remove it. Its meant to stay in for 12hrs but the next morning it fell out when I went to the loo. They did an internal exam and found that I was only 1-2cm dilated so no change. They decided that rather than breaking my waters that morning as planned they would wait and see if I dilated more during the day. I didn’t, but my cervix did thin a little more so they tried that certivil again that night. Again it fell out that morning but it had done enough that they decided to break my waters on the 15th.

Labour:

I was moved to the delivery ward at 8am and in the company of the doctor, his student, the midwife, her student and my own student midwife Cathy (small audience hey) and of course BD they inserted a long crochet hook and broke my waters. It was a horrid feeling lol Not painful, I didn’t even feel it, but the feeling of your waters coming out was like you are peeing yourself, like a lot! It was hot and just kept coming. Every time I moved more came out and there was nothing I could do to stop it. They then stuck a wire to bubs head to track his heartbeat. This hung out of my who ha and was attached to a monitor strapped to my thigh. As you can imagine this some what inhibited movement. I also had a contraction monitor on the top of my tummy which constantly moved so kept losing track of my contractions. Then we come to my cannula. I have terrible veins. One nurse tried to take some blood when I first got there and couldn’t get a line in. So they called the doctor and he managed to get one in but it was not ideal. They then stuffed up my bloods and tried to get another line in and I almost passed out from the pain (she tried the back of my hand). So they gave up for the time being and told me to just be careful not to dislodge the one I had in. So this line was used to give me fluid and the hormone to make me go into labour. Oxytocin and something. Symbicord?

The idea was that my contractions needed to get to 1min long 2min apart. I tracked them on an ap I had on my phone and when they got to 40sec long and 2.45sec apart I was struggling to maintain my calm. I of course couldn’t wear pants over all the cords so I was just laying there with my bits out. I had to use the loo at one point and walking across the room, leaking amniotic waters, dragging my trolley with my fluids and hormones and walking around the cord hanging out of my vag was an experience. When I got out I tried the fit ball with a Kylie on it. (A kylie is a large mat used for absorbing body fluids. They are a god send! Kind of like a fabric puppy training pad). It helped a little then they did another internal check and I was only 4cm dialated. It had been 3hrs. I moved to the bed and bent over the back. This was super hard on my knees so I had to get down. At the 5hr mark they changed my sensors to wireless ones so that I could have a shower. At this stage the contractions were getting to the point where I was struggling to maintain my breathing pattern and I could feel myself start to panic. I called for the Epi. Unfortunately the anethiest was in surgery and would be another 40mins. I called for morphine. It didn’t do anything! They offered gas. A word on gas, I think it was more effective to bite down on the mouth piece then any effect the gas had, the gas just made me feel super drunk between contractions.

They then noticed that bubs heart beat was dipping too low on contractions. The epi arrived and I was confined to the bed but thankfully comfortable. The epi didn’t hurt at all. The hardest part was trying to get it between contractions. They turned down the hormones and bubs heartbeat came back up. I tried to get some sleep but it was hard with all those wires and because of the epi I now also had a catheter (pee bag). Around 11pm I started finding that I was getting a tightness in my lower back on one side that the epi wasn’t numbing. I let the midwife know and she said that this might be a sign that bub was ready to come out. The feeling got more intense and I realised I was feeling contractions in that area. They built fast and the doctor did an internal and told me it was time to push.

They had to get things ready so I wasn’t aloud to push for another half an hour or so. By this time the contractions in my back were incredible painful and frequent and I could barley get a breath between. I had to let the epi ware off as much as I could so that I could feel when to push. My right leg was completely numb though as it seemed to work better in one area. They told me to push. I pushed once long and hard. Then things got a little rushed and I only found out later what had happened as I was so focused on trying to get through each contraction that I couldn’t keep track of what was happening. It turns out that when I pushed bubs heart rate dipped dangerously low. The midwife did her calm thing and rushed to get the doctor without seeming like she was worried. Doctor came in and Cathy (student midwife) pushed me onto my side (easier for bub to get blood) put my feet up in the stryups. BD had to hold my right leg in as it was completely numb still. The doctor reached in and turned bub who was posterior, so his back was along my back which is intensly painful for me and the hardest position to get him out. I was thankfully completely numb down there still so only found out she was doing this later. Contractions were every few seconds so I had no time to wonder what they were doing. She inserted foreceps and on the next contraction pulled bub out.

He was placed on my chest and my and Cathy worked to get him clean with towels. I registered that the room was really crowded at this point. The doctor stitched me up and I asked if I had torn and she said yes but it was internal and only small. Another woman (no idea who) pushed down on my stomach, something to do with my placenta I assume. As things started dieing down a woman (who I later learnt was the paediatrician) came in and did a brief look over of bub then gave him back. At this stage I noticed BD was at one side of the room looking rather shocked. I told him he could leave if he needed too. He told me later that there were so many people that he couldn’t get near me and unfortunately had been close enough to see what had happened down below. Once things died down the midwife came in and asked me if I knew what had happened. Apparently I had hemeraged (why BD was so pale was that he had seen it) and I had lost 1.3ltres of blood. Its normal to lose 500ml. They were concerned that I may need a transfusion but for now would leave us with bub. BD was great during the whole process. He did exactly what I asked, was right there with water and pushing the fit ball under me between contractions. Super man. He let me know at this point that he was feeling tightness in his chest and I told him to go get some air. He came back 20mins later and felt much better thank goodness. Neither of us had eaten since 8am the previous morning so I sent him home for sleep and food. Cathy was also sent home by the midwife as their rule is no ‘staff’ can work more than 10hrs and she had been there the whole time, 15hrs all up.

The midwife came in to check bub over at about 2am and told me that they could move me as soon as they found a room. I was a public patient so should have a shared room but they were trying to get me my own room. The doctor came back in around 5am and managed to get another canula in after 5 trys! We then discovered that I had dislodged my other one during labour and it was pumping fluids under my skin not into a vein. It came out and my other one was used instead. The midwife told me that bubs blood sugar was low 2.1, and that he was cold so would have to go to the nursery. They moved us both at 5:30am and monitored my blood pressure every 30mins. My hemoglovan (no idea how to spell that) level was low but they didn’t think I would need a transfusion which was good. I was bed bound for the whole day and the next. On the third day I got my pee bag off and was aloud up to the shower but had to use a wheel chair to go see bub.

Bub wasn’t feeding well so had to get a feeding tube in his nose. Other than that he was 100% healthy. We worked with the nursery and got him feeding well. On the 4th morning I was discharged but given the nurserys ‘rooming in’ room which was next to the nursery and had a bed so bub could spend the night before he was released the next day.

I will update on the first week of his life another time 🙂

Leave a Reply

