Hobbies and jobs

when i was leaving year 12 i had to make a choice on what i was going to do with my life. I decided on two things and set off for the local Tafe open day. (Due to some bad advice in year 11 i couldnt go to uni). I loved photography and was darn good at it. But when i went to see the course it was all comercial photography, cars and merchandise. I wanted to be arty, portraits etc. One interesting part was forensic photography but did i really want to take photos of dead people?? 

my second choice was a bit of a long shot. I loved libraries and thought it would be an interesting place to work. The course looked good, how to research, lots of lovely people. My parents voiced their concern at where i would get a job but i decided even if i changed my mind i would have a good diploma under my belt. So i went for it. And i loved it! So glad i chose it and was suprised to find that there were hundreds of libraries i could get jobs in, governement departments each have their own library and as canberra was the public service hub i was sure to find a job.

Today though im still interested in photography. I maintain that the course would have been boring but now im looking at the new technology and wondering if i could make a go of some casual opportunities. I already helped my mum save several photos after they were flood damaged. Retouching them so that they could be preserved, and restoring others of my grandmother which had been ravaged with age. 

As my life is getting into the swing of important events, babies, weddings, loved ones who we dont see often, i am considering the perks of getting a digital slr again and watching youtube videos on the latest editing software. I want to capture all of these moments and not just share them on facebook but actually print and frame them. I think start up will cost me close to $1000 but as its tax time at the end of the month i do have the opportunity to dive in. This will be just in time for Rues first birthday and for the birth of my nephew. The camera im considering is the Olympus OM-D which seems to be a light weight option and the shape reminds me of my dads first camera. I already have Adobe photoshop but am considering Adobe lightroom for about $190.

  
Should i take the dive?? What was your first job prospect?

Leave a Reply

