Toddler (and mummy) taming

i have been exhausted keeping up with rue latley. Mostly emotionally. He seems to be having breakdowns left right and center, he wont listen, he hits and throws. I put it down to terrible 2s. Then i was telling mum about it today and she said i cant let him get away with it. I cast this off as she lives in another state and doesnt know how i parent. But then i stopped and thought about that. Is rue behaviour because of his age or is it something else? 

I thought about it and realised that each time he has started acting out in the past its been because i wasnt doing something and he was actually ready to move forward in his development and needed me to move forward too. 

Last week i realised that he is prefectly happy to take his own dishes to the kitchen after meals. He will pick food up off the floor with a little encouragement. So today i thought ok maybe im not giving him enough credit and he needs me to guide him more. So i asked him to clean up. He happily sung ‘ok clean up’ while putting away his toys! I assume this is something he has learnt from daycare. Then while i was giving him a bath the tv shut off and rather than turn it back on i did some yoga with him on the floor (im not a fan of the floor as the rug is encrusted in doghair) but he was so happy. 

  
My realisation is that its not terrible 2s as much as i needed to guide him as a young child, not a baby. He needs more of my time not just me being in the room but me actually playing with him. I am watching a few youtube videos about toddler taming which have been helpful, im already doing some things but not others. So im going to make a few changes. For one im going to have tv off time each day where he gets my whole attention. Even if its just an hour or two a few times a day. I will also give him instructions and wait until they are followed, rather than just doing things for him. 

I already practice calm mum calm baby but sometimes when im tired i let it get to me rather than followiny my own rules.

  
Ill let you all know how this goes! 

Leave a Reply

