Jobs

so its no secret that i hate my job, alot. In 17months im up for long service leave which means not only have i stuck this out for 10years but i get 3months paid leave.

This means i can finally leave my job and not loose out on all that hard slog. But in order for me to do that i will take a pay cut to where ever i choose to work next. I have started preparing now for what i need to do to make it work:

  1. Pay off any debt i have, this reduces my monthly expenses by about $300.
  2. End lease on car and get modest $5000 car to replace it.
  3. Have enough savings to see me through 3months incase the new job doesnt work out.
  4. Have a house deposit

This may seem simple but they are all high cost items. If i start now im really hoping i wont have to work past my long service leave. It would be soul crushing to have to stay just for the money 😣 

Hobbies and jobs

when i was leaving year 12 i had to make a choice on what i was going to do with my life. I decided on two things and set off for the local Tafe open day. (Due to some bad advice in year 11 i couldnt go to uni). I loved photography and was darn good at it. But when i went to see the course it was all comercial photography, cars and merchandise. I wanted to be arty, portraits etc. One interesting part was forensic photography but did i really want to take photos of dead people?? 

my second choice was a bit of a long shot. I loved libraries and thought it would be an interesting place to work. The course looked good, how to research, lots of lovely people. My parents voiced their concern at where i would get a job but i decided even if i changed my mind i would have a good diploma under my belt. So i went for it. And i loved it! So glad i chose it and was suprised to find that there were hundreds of libraries i could get jobs in, governement departments each have their own library and as canberra was the public service hub i was sure to find a job.

Today though im still interested in photography. I maintain that the course would have been boring but now im looking at the new technology and wondering if i could make a go of some casual opportunities. I already helped my mum save several photos after they were flood damaged. Retouching them so that they could be preserved, and restoring others of my grandmother which had been ravaged with age. 

As my life is getting into the swing of important events, babies, weddings, loved ones who we dont see often, i am considering the perks of getting a digital slr again and watching youtube videos on the latest editing software. I want to capture all of these moments and not just share them on facebook but actually print and frame them. I think start up will cost me close to $1000 but as its tax time at the end of the month i do have the opportunity to dive in. This will be just in time for Rues first birthday and for the birth of my nephew. The camera im considering is the Olympus OM-D which seems to be a light weight option and the shape reminds me of my dads first camera. I already have Adobe photoshop but am considering Adobe lightroom for about $190.

  
Should i take the dive?? What was your first job prospect?

Career day

As I will be on maternity leave for 6-9months it gives me a lot of time to think about starting a new career. I have pretty much hated my jobs since I left CIT. Mostly because they are boring and I never have any work but also because I can see no point to my work. No job satisfaction I guess you could say. So to help me find a job im going to make some lists. I love lists lol

Things I like and am good at:

  • craft
  • design
  • marketing
  • kids
  • internet
  • sewing
  • knitting
  • writing
  • teaching
  • Qualified Library Technician
  • Experience in childcare

Things I don’t like:

  • Corporate environment
  • being told what to do
  • Having to be accountable to someone
  • 9-5

Things I want in a new job:

  • Job satisfaction
  • Sense of achievement
  • Helping people
  • Flexible working hours
  • ideally work from home
  • creative environment
  • No one looking over my shoulder

So from this I know that I don’t want to work in an office environment. I also don’t want to be at the bottom of the food chain or have staff under me. I want somewhere where I can do my work and be left in peace. This leaves few options lol I did consider selling knitted baby clothes on Etsy but I cant knit fast enough to make it profitable. I have previously done Tupperware which I loved but didn’t get enough people attending parties so felt like I was wasting my time hosting them. I am actually a published author but haven’t felt like writing since I found out I was expecting so that’s a maybe, it also only pays quarterly and I would like a steady income. This is why im thinking an online shop would be great for me. I can do it from home, stock it when I have the time around bub where it be 2am or 3pm. I get income from each sale for little outlay. I can do it from anywhere if we move (hoping to live in the country one day). Only hurdle now is deciding what to put in the shop. I can sew but have limited experience in making clothes which would be a good veture. My mother and I have both found a lack of good maternity clothes. Mostly its spandex or fitted and for the plus size lady like me both are nightmares. I have also struggled to find cute baby clothes especially for boys so there is an option but I would have to come up with the patterns myself…which I have no idea how to do. I am quite handy with creating images like posters and websites so I had thought of a graphic design angle. So I could design invitations etc. I believe I would need special software to do that though so that will be a bit of a financial outlay. I also love and am quite good at photography so could sell a few prints?

It is all food for thought though. They say everyone has a marketable skill. And I know I don’t want to live my life working a job I don’t like. I would rather have less money and do something that makes me happy. I am a bit of a jack of all trades and have tried a lot of things I decided weren’t for me, I was a bakers apprentice for 3 months (the 14day weeks killed me), I worked in childcare which I loved but was far too stressful, I joined the RFS (Rural fire service) but decided my fitness really just didn’t cut it even though I loved it, I have taken pottery classes but couldn’t think of anything to make, im a good archer but never get time to go to the range and I am a keen at home cook. I’m also a black belt in Taekwondo, and a bellydancer. As you can see I just like trying my hand at things and seeing if I like it. Im hoping to get into a quilting class before bub is born too.

What about everyone else, what is your dream job? Got any more ideas for me?